We Make Our Own Compost

Our compost is produced from fruits and vegetables that are no longer good for sale, collected from about twenty grocery stores in the West Island of Montreal. These fruits and vegetables are returning to the land, less than 5 km from the grocery stores.

Once a week, the farmer must extract some of the compost from his compost bin to prepare a "bed" for incoming fruits and vegetables that a truck will unload. When the delivery is complete, everything is mixed with wood chips and put into the composter. This significantly reduces the need to add carbon-rich material to the compost to make it more absorbent and improve texture.

Between weekly deliveries, the composter must be visited 2 or 3 times in order to monitor the temperature (which can reach 72 ° C), adjust the ventilation and monitor the leachate level, or "waste juice", which accumulates in the three basins under the compost cells. The composter roof opens automatically to let steam escape.

At regular intervals, the leachate is pumped and poured back on the compost, while the activity of heat-producing bacteria contributes to evaporation. Since there is no animal material in the compost, the leachate is free of pathogens. The compost can therefore be spread on our fields.

In Notre-Dame-de-l'Île-Perrot, where our fields are located, the clay soil is covered with very little organic matter. Adding compost will help, especially where gourd type plants are grown. Since the nitrogen-filled leachate has been put back into the compost several times, then evaporated, the final compost will be richer than compost found on the market. In addition, the soil structure and its ability to retain moisture will be improved.

tractor

Les Serres Gabriel & Fils

745 Cardinal-Léger Boulevard, Pincourt, QC J7W 3Z3

Monday - Friday 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM

Saturday 08:00 AM - 05:00 PM

Sunday 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

Professional Association

Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA)

Send to a friend

Send the url of this page to a friend of yours

Copyright Les Serres Gabriel & Fils 2019 - Legal
Created by

Legal notice

Nous fabriquons notre compost

Notre compost est produit à partir des fruits et légumes trop mal en point pour être vendus, ils proviennent d’une vingtaine d’épiceries de l'Ouest-de-l'Île de Montréal. Donc, ces fruits et légumes retournent à la terre, à moins de 5 km des épiceries.

Une fois par semaine, le producteur doit extraire de son composteur une partie du compost pour préparer un « lit » aux fruits et légumes qu’un camion viendra décharger. Quand la livraison est complétée, le tout est mélangé avec des copeaux de bois et intégré au composteur. Cette façon de faire réduit considérablement le besoin d’ajouter de la matière riche en carbone dans le compost afin de le rendre plus absorbant et d’améliorer sa texture.

Entre les livraisons hebdomadaires, on doit visiter le composteur 2 ou 3 fois afin de suivre la température (qui peut atteindre 72°C), d’ajuster la ventilation et de surveiller le niveau du lixiviat, ou « jus de déchet », qui s’accumule dans l’un des trois bassins situés sous les cellules du compost. Le toit du composteur s’ouvre automatiquement, afin de laisser la vapeur s’échapper.

À intervalle régulier, le lixiviat est pompé et arrosé sur le compost, l’activité des bactéries qui produisent de la chaleur contribue à l’évaporation. Puisqu’il n’y a aucune matière animale dans le compost, son lixiviat est exempt de pathogènes. On peut donc l’épandre dans nos champs.

À Notre-Dame-de-l'Île-Perrot, où sont situés nos champs, le sol glaiseux est recouvert de très peu de matière organique. L’ajout de compost viendra y remédier, notamment là où sont cultivées des cucurbitacées. Puisque le lixiviat bourré d’azote aura été réinjecté dans le compost à maintes reprises, puis évaporé, le compost final sera plus riche que celui qu’on retrouve sur le marché. En plus, la structure du sol et sa capacité à retenir l’humidité seront améliorées.

tracteur

Les Serres Gabriel & Fils

745 Cardinal-Léger Boulevard, Pincourt, QC J7W 3Z3

Lundi - Vendredi 08:00 - 18:00

Samedi 08:00 - 17:00

Dimanche 09:00 - 17:00

Association professionnelle

Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA)

Envoyer à un ami

Envoyer l'URL de cette page à un(e) de vos ami(e)s

Tous droits réservés Les Serres Gabriel & Fils 2019 - Mention légale
Création de

Mention legale